Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Divisions: Journalism Studies
Group Pages
  • Henrik Ornebring Chair

    Karlstad U
    Department of Geography, Media and Communication
    Karlstad   651 88
    Ph. +46 (0)54 700 1642  Fax

  • Keren Tenenboim-Weinblatt Vice Chair

    Hebrew U of Jerusalem
    Mount Scopus
    Department of Communication
    Jerusalem   91905
    Ph.   Fax

  • Helle Sjovaag Secretary

    University of Bergen
    PO Box 7802
    Bergen   5020
    Ph. 55589021  Fax

The Journalism Studies Division of the International Communication Association is concerned with journalism theory, journalism research, and professional education in journalism. The division invites a wide array of theoretical, epistemological and methodological approaches, all of which are united around an interest in journalism and share the aim of enhancing existing understandings of how journalism works, across temporal and geographic contexts. The division is intended to facilitate empirical research and to bring more coherence to research paradigms, and in so doing, to further support the professionalization of journalism studies and journalism education. With journalism as its focus, the division will create a setting in which scholars employing different kinds of academic approaches can engage in dialogue. It would be a clearinghouse for the wide range of scholarship on journalism.



Call for papers: “Algorithms, Automation, and News: Capabilities, Cases, and Consequences

For full details, see

** Conference in Munich, Germany — May 22–23, 2018
** Select papers published in special issue of Digital Journalism and a proposed edited volume
** Submission deadline: July 15, 2017.

Abstracts should be 500-1,000 words (not including references) and sent to Please also include a 100-word biography of each author and 6-8 keywords describing your proposal. Work should be original, not previously published elsewhere.

This three-part call—conference, special issue, and book project—brings together the latest scholarly research on algorithms, automation, and news. In particular, it seeks to organize research on capabilities, cases, and consequences associated with these technologies: explorations of the possibilities and perils, of theory and practice, and of comparative perspectives according to various sites and levels of analysis. Ultimately, we aim for research that provides a future orientation while grounded in appropriate historical context, contemporary empirical research, and rigorous conceptual development. For the full call for papers, please see

Confirmed speakers: Philip M. Napoli, Duke University (keynote speaker); C.W. Anderson, College of Staten Island & University of Leeds; Natali Helberger, University of Amsterdam; Nicholas Diakopoulos, University of Maryland.

Organizers: Neil Thurman, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich; Seth C. Lewis, University of Oregon; with the assistance of Dr. Jessica Kunert, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich


Call for papers: Digital Journalism special issue : ‘Measurable Journalism: Digital Platforms, News Metrics, and the Quantified Audience’. Guest Editor: Matt Carlson, Saint Louis University, USA (

As the news became an industrialized product, it also became a measured one. The ability of news organizations to attract advertisers, justify funding, and compare themselves to their peers have all depended on elaborate audience measurement techniques. Digital media platforms have further changed this dynamic by altering how news organizations monitor, track, and interact with their audiences, ultimately creating the conditions to imagine journalism’s relationships with others in new ways. The aim of this special issue is to bring together research around the topic of “measureable journalism” – that is, the shift to traceable news content that provides real-time quantitative data about audiences while permitting new modes of engagement and accountability. This shift has had a noticeable effect at the level of practice as news organizations reorient their distribution practices around the audience. It promotes a new focus on ‘engagement’ and ‘sharing’ rather than simply consumption. It also creates new streams of data that become objects of struggles between distribution platforms like social media, news providers, and audiences. Most notably, it opens up digital news spaces to the clutter of clickbait and ‘fake news’ fabricated to earn clicks and reap advertising dollars. All of this makes for a confusing news landscape, as actors adapt their practices around emerging ways of understanding what news distribution ought to look like. This special issue seeks to further investigation of these and other issues.

Submissions are invited on the following topics:
•      Clickbait and fake news as part of the news ecosystem
•      News consumption data streams produced by social media platforms
•      Audience metrics and their impact on news decisions
•      The erosion of the editorial-advertising boundary
•      The growth of news personalization and news algorithms
•      The political economy of digital news platforms and audience attention
•      Challenges to professional judgment in the face of measurable journalism
•      The quantification of news impact
•      New conceptual and methodological innovations made necessary by measurable journalism
•      Audience-driven temporal shifts in news distribution
•      Historical analyses of audience measurement

Please send abstracts of no more than 250 words to by  .

Abstracts due: June 1, 2017. Authors notified: June 15, 2017. Full papers due: October 15, 2017


The Worlds of Journalism Study (WJS) releases aggregated data and reports for 67 countries. Data and reports are freely available at the project website:

In an unprecedented collaborative effort, the recent study (2012-2016) compiled data on the state of journalism in 67 countries from all inhabited continents. The data is based on standardized interviews with more than 27,500 journalists about pressing issues journalists and news organizations are facing these days, such as journalism’s place in society, professional ethics, editorial autonomy, perceived influences on newsmaking, journalistic trust in public institutions, and the transformation of journalism in the broadest sense.

Contact: Thomas Hanitzsch, Chair and Professor of Communication, WJS Center, E-mail



Journalistic Role Performance: Concepts, Contexts, and Methods. Edited by Claudia Mellado, Lea Hellmueller and Wolfgang Donsbach (Routledge: New York/London, 2017).

This volume lays out the theoretical and methodological framework to introduce the concept of journalistic role performance, defined as the outcome of concrete newsroom decisions and the style of news reporting when considering different constraints that influence the news product. By connecting role conception to role performance, this book addresses how journalistic ideals manifest in practice. The authors of this book analyze the disconnection between journalists’ understanding of their role and their actual professional performance in a period of high uncertainty and excitement about the future of journalism due the changes the Internet and new technologies have brought to the profession. See for more details.

Group Feed
Mario Haim joined the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Thursday, January 19, 2017

Recently Updated Profiles
Lars Guenther, Riris Loisa, Philip Feldman, Gwyneth Mellinger, Dominique Heinbach

Henrik Ornebring


ICA welcomes your comments and questions. Please feel free to contact the ICA staff at anytime.


International Communication Association
1500 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036 USA

Phone: (202) 955-1444

Connect With Us